web picture 7STARTING STAGE 2

Now that your practice is “live” on an EHR and has attested to Meaningful Use (MU) Stage 1, you have laid the foundation for increasing efficiency, reducing costs and improving patient care. So what is the next step?

MU Stage 2 presents new challenges with more core measures, higher reporting thresholds and 2014 EHR certification requirements.

Our experienced MU experts can guide you through the new measures, to be able to maximize your incentive payments and avoid penalties.



  • Avoid Penalties – reimbursements are reduced as of January 1, 2015 by one percent and increase annually up to five percent for non-compliance.
  • Qualify for Incentive Payments – federal incentive payments are available to eligible practices who meet meaningful use criteria.
  • Coordinated Care – allows providers to share information among doctor’s offices, hospitals and clinics.
  • Access to Information– providers have complete access to records to provide optimum care and increase patient safety.
  • Patient Engagement – gives patients the ability to take an active role in their own healthcare.
  • Healthier Patient Populations – data captured can be used to track diseases and outcomes.


Meeting Meaningful Use Stage 2 Requirements

The increased standards are complicated and time consuming. Let our experts take the worry out of achieving MU Stage 2. We take care of the processes and guide you through the new standards, to save you time and money by freeing up your staff to focus on patient care.

Examples of Requirements for Meaningful Use Stage 2

  • Additional requirements for e-prescribing and incorporating lab results
  • Electronic transmission of patient care summaries across multiple settings
  • Increased patient and family engagement

CMS released a final rule on October 6, 2015 that specifies criteria that eligible professionals must meet to participate in the Medicare and Medicaid Electronic Health Record (EHR) Incentive Programs. The EHR Incentive Program requirements for 2015 – 2017 include:


  • There are 10 objectives including one consolidated public health reporting objective
  • 9 Clinical Quality Measures covering at least 3 out of 6 domains

Reporting Period

  • 2015 – For all providers, the reporting period is an continuous 90-day period within the calendar year
  • 2016 –
    • New participants to the program may report on any continuous 90-day period within the calendar year
    • Returning participants will have a reporting period of a full calendar year from January 1, 2016 – December 31, 2016
  • 2017 –
    • New participants to the program and providers who choose to implement Stage 3 may report on any continuous 90-day period within the calendar year
    • Returning participants will have a reporting period of a full calendar year from January 1, 2017 – December 31, 2017

All providers will be required to have 2014 certified EHR systems. Providers are encouraged to contact their vendor to determine the timing, implementation, and potential costs of upgrading to 2014 certified technology. Click here to view the full list of 2014 certified EHR systems.


How UCF REC Can Help

Our Services

  • Meaningful Use Education
  • Gap Analysis
  • Selection of Meaningful Use Clinical Quality Measures
  • Best Practice Workflow Analysis
  • Monitoring of Meaningful Use Compliance
  • Security and Risk Analysis
  • Provide ONC Approved Policy and Procedure Templates
  • Meaningful Use Attestation
  • Audit Preparedness


Contact the UCF REC for a FREE consultation and let us assist your practice with Meaningful Use Stage 2.

To learn more about our services, contact join@ucf-rec.org or 407.775.6010.


Click here to compare Meaningful Use Stage 2 measures with Stage 1.